Journal-#23

This spread started with a Cerulean blue background.  It has layers of greens, blues and gold.  I used Liquitex Interference Gold which looks white. It does have a luminous quality but I don’t think that really shows up in the photo.  The collage elements are old texts, patterned tissue paper and magazine cutouts.  I used a black Glaze pen by Sakura which is becoming a new favorite to use to write and doodle.  I also used a black Micron pen, also by Sakura.  The quote is from Leonard Cohen:  “There’s a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in.”

13 thoughts on “Journal-#23

  1. Artswebshow September 12, 2010 / 5:30 pm

    The woman on the second page.
    That is such a wonderful posture to draw. looks great
    Nicely done

    Like

  2. Rosie September 13, 2010 / 1:18 am

    Love the background colours Mary! I really like the vase of flowers – the black pens seem to work beautifully over the paint… I shall have to source them over here, I think!

    Like

  3. Brigitte September 13, 2010 / 2:16 am

    Beautiful pages. I love your drawing on the right, and the colors are beautiful. The quote really touched me, how true, thank you for that. Makes it easier for me to handle my own ‘crack’ 😉

    Like

  4. jenny September 13, 2010 / 7:13 am

    I love seeing your pages because they are always made up of interesting combinations of items and very colorful. I will admit that I thought of you this morning as I tossed an advertisement into the trash. I knew that you would have put it to good use…
    I have those Micron pens in different sizes and colors, too. I use them often when I make my greeting cards.
    Would you mind telling me what your actual journal pages are made of? Is it a book of papers that you put together, or a purchased “journal” that you layer upon?
    I am sure you have mentioned this in the past, but my brain hasn’t held on to that info.
    Which reminds me…I love the quote. Truly.

    Like

  5. jenny September 13, 2010 / 8:02 am

    Mary, I hope you don’t mind, I mentioned you on my blog today. I’m sorry I didn’t say something to you first.

    Like

    • Mary September 13, 2010 / 8:18 am

      Jenny, I’m flattered that you mentioned me on your blog.

      This particular journal is an old 70’s craft book that I picked up at our local library book sale for 50 cents. It’s approximately 8 inches by 10 when closed. I tear out about half of the pages, skipping every other page or so. I usually gesso the pages first before doing anything to them. Some of the pages have been glued together to make them more sturdy. Another great journal is a composition book…you can glue those pages together also.

      Like

      • jenny September 13, 2010 / 8:48 am

        Thank you so much for the replies- here and at my blog! Always inspiring!
        j.

        Like

  6. hillandatree September 13, 2010 / 2:52 pm

    I love the woman with the eye behind her. Great atmosphere.

    Like

  7. martha lever September 14, 2010 / 6:43 pm

    This is extremely wonderful!!!!!!! I love it!

    Like

  8. Anita September 14, 2010 / 8:02 pm

    Hi Mary,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    I haven’t taken any of the classes over at willowing yet either, but I love her work, it’s so whimsical and I think I’d love to.

    Stop by to visit anytime! Warm hugs…

    Anita ♥
    http://asesaj.blogspot.com/
    aseknc(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  9. iheartfilm September 14, 2010 / 9:58 pm

    I’ve always liked that Leonard Cohen quote. 🙂

    Like

  10. Emelie September 16, 2010 / 1:25 pm

    Thank you for coming by, such a nice variety of things and art to see here today and everything has a different look which takes some doing. So pretty, artistic, enjoying your journal work and great info on how to use any book of pages, and I need reminding of that all the time. So now I have the feeling of what should I do first? At times I enjoy that feeling.

    Like

  11. n2theblue September 16, 2010 / 3:54 pm

    nice! and i love that Leonard Cohen song

    Like

Leave a Reply

