“Strip Ease’ Collage

GPP C42duedate

This is the collage I made for Michelle Ward’s Green Pepper Press monthly crusade .   Go here to read about it: http://www.michelleward.typepad.com/how_cool_is_that/   This is the second crusade I have entered.  They are open to anyone and you can enter until the end of the month if you’d like to make a collage.  I used an assortment of painted papers and magazine strips.  I had a background painted in my experimental journal just waiting.  I thought it needed something else but rather than taking a risk at hiding the effects of the strips, I decided to leave it as is.  

 

15 thoughts on ““Strip Ease’ Collage

  1. michelle ward July 15, 2010 / 7:22 pm

    Mary – interesting collage of strips. I keep seeing new things in it. I didn’t even see the portion of the man at first. I love how this has your painted bits and magazine bits. I scrolled down through your site and saw alot of really wonderful work. I spy that the swap pieces you made for your friend Joyce (the top one) also has some great stripping 🙂 Thanks for participating!

    Like

  2. Brigitte July 16, 2010 / 12:59 am

    Love your strip-collage ! Lots to see, lot of different details. About Totally Tangled, yes, I like the book, lot of tangles and how they can be used, I just recently started Zentangles and need some patterns to get a jump start 😉

    Like

  3. Janet July 16, 2010 / 9:01 am

    Cool collage! I agree with Michelle….there’s lots to see in this piece. I love the doodles, and your painted papers are great. Mine never look as good. What’s your secret???

    Like

  4. Kitty July 16, 2010 / 12:20 pm

    Turned out great! I’m thinking about making one as well:)

    Like

  5. Jane July 16, 2010 / 12:37 pm

    This is very cool! My favorite part is the woman on the right.

    Like

  6. Jackie July 17, 2010 / 1:38 am

    A great collage, Mary; the strips work so well and there are so many details to look at!

    Like

  7. fabricfan July 17, 2010 / 1:57 pm

    This is a great collage, love the lady looking for something, then I noticed the man on the other side. Great idea.

    Like

  8. Maureen July 17, 2010 / 6:34 pm

    Sometimes the strips hold there own like this and other times, they’re subtle backgrounds. It’s all good. (btw, that man is perhaps a ‘mere’ background? 😉 )

    Like

  9. Lena July 18, 2010 / 10:34 am

    Nice to meet you too! Great work with those strips here! Very strong and powerful! I think it was good that you kept the strips as they where – otherwise the whole effect would have gone. Very nice!

    Like

  10. quinncreative July 18, 2010 / 10:11 pm

    I love the casual look to this piece, with coordinated color and depth!

    Like

  11. Cath Sheard July 19, 2010 / 3:21 am

    I really like the combination of painted papers and glossy magazine pages. For some reason, the leaf especially grabs my eye; it has such a strong graphic quality about it.

    Like

  12. Helen July 21, 2010 / 7:11 am

    I like your pages very much, the colors and images. Your doodling is great. I looked through your blog a little, great stuff. Thanks for your comment on my blog, by the way.

    Like

  13. Susan Sager Brown July 31, 2010 / 11:45 am

    Good work!! I like that you didn’t cover up your painted background! I took some time and perused your blog and must say your Art is WONDERFUL. You got some skills and great color combos!! xoSusan

    Like

Leave a Reply

