Technicolor Face-1

Well, I told myself I wasn’t going to take another online class until later on in the year but I signed up for Sharon Tomlinson’s  class, “Faces in Technicolor”  last week. ( http://allnorahsart.ning.com/ )  Over the weekend, I worked on my first face.  That’s also why I have been drawing faces lately as mentioned in the post below but I wouldn’t think of painting over that little face.   

Anyway….on this little lady, I used acrylic heavy body paints with lots and lots of glaze.  The colors are Alizarin Crimson, Viridian Green and Yellow Orange Azo.  I also used  Dioxazine Purple ink(Liquitex)  plus, some flesh colors.  This turned out too dark…the purple is too intense.  I know not to use it again but if I’m tempted, I’ll tone it down with a gray or white.  One of these days, I need to make the leap and paint on canvas.

 

6 thoughts on “Technicolor Face-1

  1. jenny July 6, 2010 / 8:26 am

    Mary, I like this very much, and don’t mind the purple at all, but you know I always love intense colors.

    Like

  2. Janet July 6, 2010 / 3:38 pm

    I like the purple….but I bet you knew I would! I think the whole face looks great. Have fun in the class and keep sharing what you do.

    Like

  3. Karen July 6, 2010 / 6:21 pm

    I saw this class on her website and thought it looked cool…I was sooo right!!!! Love the purple but then again….look at my last “girl” She’s got loads of purple too!

    ~Karen

    Like

  4. blogaloorgirl July 6, 2010 / 8:55 pm

    Hi Mary, I love the bright colours and the purple too…and the face looks beautiful.

    Like

  5. quinncreative July 6, 2010 / 10:21 pm

    The intense color adds a depth and power to the face that a softer color may not have. For years I stuck to neutrals, but once you move to the Sonoran Desert, rich colors seem perfect!

    Like

  6. RC July 7, 2010 / 6:06 pm

    Love this little lady! Very nice job, and I quite like the intense purple also!

    Like

Leave a Reply

