Twice Doodled

We just finished watching the first three seasons of “Mad Man.”  It’s about an ad agency on Madison Avenue during the 60’s. I can’t get over how almost everyone smoked then.  Even women smoked and drank alcohol while pregnant.   We are caught up now so I can concentrate on my art.  The fourth season of “Mad Man” will begin in July on AMC.  It’s an excellent series…anyone else watching it??

I started these two doodle pieces last week.  This collage doodle is a piece of watercolor paper that I textured with black and red acrylic paint.  Then I spread white acrylic paint over that with a texture tool.  The collage pieces were cut from a painted phone book page.  I used a Stabilo black pencil to outline the pieces and a black Prismacolor marker to accent in some areas. 

This next one started with a piece of watercolor paper that I collaged with various painted phone book paper.  Then I used different black markers and Prismacolor colored pencils to doodle over the collage pieces.

8 thoughts on “Twice Doodled

  1. These are really good. I love the layered look of the first. There is a lot of energy in the painting, a lot of movement- my eye travels all over the painting, but it isn’t jarring.
    The second one could probably be turned on either of its sides, and it would look just as good!
    I would love it if you sometimes gave the paper size so I could really “see ” your paintings/doodlings!

    Like

  2. On the first one, the white section at the top makes me think of a small waterfall. When you paint phone book pages do you gesso first? The one at the bottom has such gorgeous, bright colors….all my favorites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

