Remains of the Day Journal

I started this a few months ago and finally got around to finishing it this past weekend. I made this as a result of taking a class, “Remains of the Day,” by Mary Ann Moss. It is comprised entirely out of found papers….old sheet music, maps, magazines, pages from vintage children’s books and other books. I also used some security envelopes plus some of my doodlings scraps. I used an old file folder for the cover and used collage pieces over that. I glued pages from an old craft book on the inside back and front covers. I glued the collage pieces down lightly, then stitched around most of them. I ended up with four signatures which I sewed in with the sewing machine. I covered the stitches on the spine with black masking tape. I didn’t know what I was going to use as a closure…I finally got the idea to use strips of an old vintage handkerchief.  

  

    

   

  

  

 

8 thoughts on “Remains of the Day Journal

  1. Mary, I LOVE how you’ve put your book together. I am in the midst of putting my first one together too and I think I’m going to borrow a few of your ideas… I especially like how you used a file folder as the base for your fabric. Thanks for sharing these great pictures!

    Like

  2. Your journal turned out great! I still haven’t finished mine. It’s all sitting in a box on the shelf waiting for me to get inspired again.

    Like

  3. I like it!! So now what are you going to do with it? Paint and journal? I’m never sure how something like this can work if you prepare it in advance – therefore I never tried.

    Like

    1. You can use something like this as a travel journal…tuck photos in or even tape more pictures or other papers in. This one should probably not be painted in, just journal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

