Remains of the Day Journal

I started this a few months ago and finally got around to finishing it this past weekend. I made this as a result of taking a class, “Remains of the Day,” by Mary Ann Moss. It is comprised entirely out of found papers….old sheet music, maps, magazines, pages from vintage children’s books and other books. I also used some security envelopes plus some of my doodlings scraps. I used an old file folder for the cover and used collage pieces over that. I glued pages from an old craft book on the inside back and front covers. I glued the collage pieces down lightly, then stitched around most of them. I ended up with four signatures which I sewed in with the sewing machine. I covered the stitches on the spine with black masking tape. I didn’t know what I was going to use as a closure…I finally got the idea to use strips of an old vintage handkerchief.