Phantom Petals

I haven’t had much time for arting the past few days.  I finished this piece last weekend.  The collage pieces are cut from painted phone book pages.  After gluing the pieces down, I used a brush with black India ink to outline everything.  Then I decided that was too stark and softened it with watercolor crayons and oil pastels.

Today in the mail, I  received the sewn journal I won a few weeks ago.  It traveled all the way from Norway to Arkansas.  I can’t make out the spelling of her first name but you can visit her website: ( http://www.scrowlscrowl.blogspot.com/) . 

She has a video on her site of a current journal that she is working on…go check it out.  Here are some of my favorites pages from the journal: 

The cover (above) plus two of the pages:

 

 

7 thoughts on “Phantom Petals

  1. kseverny April 1, 2010 / 6:08 am

    i particularly like the first piece

    Like

  2. parisdreamtime April 1, 2010 / 11:21 am

    Hi Mary, I came from Lifesasaketch, attracted by the bright colors that popped up in the link on your comment:) Love the paintings you are creating here, they are so very decorative, and would also make fine textile designs:) Have a great weekend, greetings from Paris, Andrea

    Like

  3. Diane April 2, 2010 / 5:48 pm

    Oh wow, Mary that journal is great, and I haven’t been here in a little while–I love all of your flowers!

    Like

  4. Gail April 3, 2010 / 3:56 pm

    Mary, so nice to hear from you…I really like the flowers you are doing. And I agree, softening the black was a good choice on this. Funny, I’ve been having a hard time getting to my art too. Maybe it’s spring fever? I suppose I did spent 3 hours in the dog run this morning. I appreciated your comments, it helps to know others are indeed interested! I’m looking forward to trying out painting some phonebook pages soon too. All the best. Gail

    Like

  5. Laura K April 3, 2010 / 5:27 pm

    Love this page!!! Great color choices! You make phone books rule!! How very cool to win a journal ALL the way from norway! Have fun with it!!

    Like

  6. scrowlscrowl April 5, 2010 / 3:57 pm

    Thank you so much for letting me know the journal arrived in Arkansas safe and sound -i really appreciate that.
    and thanks for posting pictures and linking me!

    I’m so glad you liked the journal!! I know it’s not perfect, and really, that is the fun part -you can change it in your own way.

    Happy Easter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

