GPP Street Team

This is my first time to enter a creativity challenge over at Green Pepper Press (http://michelleward.typepad.com/how_cool_is_that/2010/03/crusade-no-38.html).  This is Crusade No. 38 and is hosted by Michelle Ward.   The challenge is to create a collage from painted tissue paper.  I used white tissue paper which I painted with acrylic paints and inks.  I forgot to use gesso as suggested. I’ll have to try that on another collage. It was my first time using tissue paper in collage…it’s a little tricky to use with but I really liked the effect.  This is in my “old book” journal.

17 thoughts on “GPP Street Team

  1. Hello Mary. Nice to meet you and have you playing on our street team! I love the colors and composition of these pages. And they look even more interesting when I click for the enlargement – so much texture and great mix of color. It’s so impressive to learn you started from white tissue! Bravo!!

    Like

  2. Ooh, i like the Picasso-like effect here! I also love the colors. I am a fan of bright, bold colors. Great job! I hope you keep joining the crusdades 🙂

    Like

  3. Tissue paper is tricky stuff to use but it does give collages a wonderful texture! I usually use it to cover over old work and create a new surface with it. Your collage is very vibrant! have you tried using lunch paper? It’s similar to the tissue paper but thicker and easier to work with:)

    Like

  4. And I love it. I really like working with tissue paper, because it doesn’t have to go on smooth–you get that stucco look and the cheaper stuff is so transparent, which is nice. I also like to stamp on it and then collage.

    Like

  5. The colors you have used are just popping out at me. The little touch of black with white is the
    “glue” that creates harmony across the entire piece. Nice work.
    Thanks for the comment on my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

