Journal – #13

We went to see Shutter Island yesterday. It’s a well made movie but I kept waiting for another twist at the end…I was thinking, it’s not really going to end like this, is it? But it did. Leonardo DiCaprio is the main star and was brilliant, as usual.

Here’s another quick journal page.  It needs something more in the background; however,  I do like the way the face turned out.  It looks a little wonky but I like that.  I was going for hair like my friend Diane (My Art Journal) paints on her girls…but I didn’t really achieve the look I wanted.   

I do want to mention something that I found this weekend. Some of you are familiar with the sketchbook project that several online artists participated in and  then blogged about it on their blogs. Sharon made a wonderful sketchbook she entitled the TimeKeepers Diary. (http://allnorahsart.blogspot.com/search/label/Sketchbook%20Project )   The Art House Coop has many other ongoing projects.  This one caught my eye..it’s called “Mail Me Something.”  I have signed up to participate.   It  involves making post card size art (4 x 6) and mailing it off to them.  Read about this project and many other projects at their website: 

http://www.arthousecoop.com/projects/mailmesomething

6 thoughts on “Journal – #13

  1. Janet March 15, 2010 / 10:16 am

    “Shutter Island” is one I put on my DO NOT SEE list! It looks too creepy for me! I’m glad you enjoyed it for the most part.

    I like the girl, and her hair looks good. I have such a difficult time painting hair….I can never get it to look like what I want.

    How funny….I signed up for that Mail Me Something project last week!!

    Like

  2. RDE March 15, 2010 / 4:28 pm

    Very nice job, Mom!

    Like

  3. Gail March 15, 2010 / 4:59 pm

    I had the very same feeling about Shutter Island…waiting and waiting. I had been expecting a more “Sixth Sense” turn to it from the beginning and was looking for clues. I had noticed that he never had his own cigarettes or light. I was so pleased that I had caught the cue, even though I didn’t figure out what it meant.

    As always, I’m enjoying your journal pages…I don’t know the reference you made regarding the hair, but maybe that helps me not see anything wrong with it…I quite like her hair.
    -G

    Like

  4. scrowlscrowl March 17, 2010 / 6:16 am

    Congratulations!!

    You won my sewn junk journal 😀

    Please email me your address and your journal will be on its way!!
    I really hope you’ll use it! 🙂

    Like

    • Mary March 17, 2010 / 8:14 am

      Wow! Thanks so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

