Journal – #9

Here’s another page in my experimental journal.  I have decided, at least for the next few pages,  to do a single page at a time instead of a double page spread.  After getting my initial coat of background  paint on the page,  I started putting layers of paint down moving it around with an old credit card.  I used cad orange first (I think)…then I put down Viridian Green and Manganese Blue and Zinc White. I also used some Payne’s Gray…that’s the dark, almost black shade you see going across the horizon.  I am experimenting with heavy body paint rather than fluid acrylics…I like them a lot but they are so thick and the brush becomes rather dry if you do not work quickly.  I love the blues and greens in this piece.

2 thoughts on “Journal – #9

  1. Janet February 24, 2010 / 11:31 am

    Makes me think of a reflection in water. Very cool!

    Like

  2. Laura K March 9, 2010 / 1:28 pm

    this is luscious!! Very impressionistic like!

    Like

Leave a Reply

