Journal #6

I started with a base of white paint.  I found that the pages will curl up on the corners when I do not start with a gesso base.  I put down some dark blue and green acrylic paint.  I thinned some transparent red iron oxide paint with water and dribbled that down the pages.  I tried so many things that I can’t remember everything I did.  Suzi mentioned interference paints in one of her class videos.  I ordered some Liquitex Interference Gold from Dick Blick just to try.  It gives any paint you mix it with added shimmer and glitz.  I did a lot of stamping with some stamps I made from foam.  That’s what you see in the little house on the left and in the woman’s hair on the right.  I used some Caran d’Ache crayons to enhance the skin tones. I think that’s all.  NOTE:   I don’t know where the dark shadow  down on the lower right page came from and I didn’t notice it until after I finished the post  but I will leave it as it is.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Journal #6

  1. Esther January 28, 2010 / 11:28 am

    Again beautiful! I love your work. You really know how to choose the right colours. I will keep checking your blog!!

    Like

  2. Janet January 28, 2010 / 3:16 pm

    I just saw this over at Art Journaling and LOVE it! I’m going to have to carve some stamps ’cause I love that texture you got with yours. Beautiful!!!!

    Like

    • Mary January 28, 2010 / 5:25 pm

      Janet, I used some Scratch-Foam I ordered from DB or Mr.A. You can used a pencil or stylus and just draw the design on and it’s ready to go. This foam isn’t any thicker than that fun foam stuff you can get at lots of craft type stores…I bet it would work.

      Like

  3. Mariza January 30, 2010 / 11:58 am

    The stamping effect is great — I especially like how you used it in her hair.

    Like

  4. Diane January 31, 2010 / 7:12 am

    Mary, this is beautiful. I noticed that about the pages, too–Ill add gesso next time. You asked me what kind of wood that I used for my Suzi painting. Actually, I found it at a garage sale, and there was a little shelf attached to it–so I took if off and sanded it down a little because there was varnish on it. It’s probably pine–it’s a nice size, though–7×18

    Like

Leave a Reply

