Moleskine Faces

I started a new Moleskine sketchbook to use mainly to practice drawing faces.  Here’s my first attempt at adding color to my sketches.   I do not have the various shades of colored pencils that Suzi recommends so I had to use what I have.  I am waiting for pencils from Dick Blick. This was also my first experience to use clear gesso and I love the texture I was able to achieve.  I didn’t realize that the skin tones of the two girls are so different until I scanned my journal pages.

7 thoughts on “Moleskine Faces

  1. Kitty January 14, 2010 / 5:45 am

    Ohhhh, wow. I like the one on the right better, I must say. (I don’t have Suzi’s colors neither, but I’ll make do, she suggested a bunch of supplies that I’d have to order from USA and that would mean crazy custom and postage costs, so – no go.)

    Like

  2. Lisa Sarsfield January 14, 2010 / 1:06 pm

    The lady with the red hair seems to be questioning me..what are you looking for and why are you here? Your faces are lovely, such fine lines!

    Re blogger vs wordpress…my opinion:)
    I prefer blogger. Word press has much more templates to choose from but less flexibility. You can add widgets etc to your pages and Blogger has a nicre upload tool too. WordPress pages tend to look more professional though so I guess it depends on what you’re after!

    Like

  3. Dawn January 14, 2010 / 1:40 pm

    Oh these are just lovely. I have been practicing my faces too but with acrylics. I should try my pencils and crayons to see if I like those better.

    Like

  4. Janet January 14, 2010 / 3:16 pm

    OMG! These are fantastic! And having different skin tones is natural. I think you’re doing great with these faces. I think I’ve finally decided to do this!

    Like

  5. allmimsey January 16, 2010 / 10:31 am

    I really like the addition of the stamp…I thought it was writing (freehand) and then in close up saw it was a stamp..love the effect.
    About wordpress…it does seem there are more limitations about the sidebar stuff, but I agree Lisa, above, that the wordpress looks cleaner…I’m not a big fan of the really busy look that happens with some of the bloggers. I think it’s one of the things that attracted me to your blog initially–clean lines. Of couse content is the important thing, but sometimes when a blog looks so busy I don’t look further. Will be curious to hear what you decide!

    Like

  6. Diane January 19, 2010 / 6:00 am

    These are beautiful, Mary!! I love the girl in purple. I’ve yet to add color–I have the pencils too–it’s just that I like my all of my girls faces and I don’t want to ruin them, but I’ll do it (hopefully not ruin them). Where do you get the India Inks from? Love those journal pages!

    Like

  7. sandy Mayfield January 25, 2010 / 10:45 pm

    These women are lovely. You helped make my decision to sign up for the class.

    Like

Leave a Reply

