Art Journal – No Words Can Say

I must say that my first six days back in the classroom have been fun and interesting.  I finished this page tonight.  I had started it several days ago and I hadn’t felt like working on anything until tonight.  This page began with a coat of black gesso…I’ve never worked with it before.  Going from dark to light was a challenge for me.  I used Caran d’Ache crayons along with the collage papers.  Do you recognize the inside of security envelopes I used around the face?  The face could have been a little smoother but I couldn’t get the effect I wanted without totally wiping out everything, so I just left it.  No words can say how tired I am tonight.

d

5 thoughts on “Art Journal – No Words Can Say

  1. sherry goodloe August 27, 2009 / 9:27 am

    I LOVE the use of the security envelopes around the face for the illusion of hair! Nice . . . very nice. It just “pops” 🙂

    Like

  2. Janet August 27, 2009 / 10:03 am

    OMG! I love this one! She is beautiful….love the security envelopes as hair. I looked for black gesso here but no one has it so it will go on my next Dick Blick order.

    Like

  3. katiejane August 29, 2009 / 1:33 pm

    This looks really nice. I like it a lot. I didn’t see the insides of the envelopes until you pointed them out. What a clever idea. It all turned out so nice.

    Like

  4. allmimsey September 4, 2009 / 7:54 am

    She is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

