Art Journal – Purple Dream

I plan to do another graffiti panel but I had this page started and wanted to finish it.  I have been wanting to try doing something using  monochromatic colors.  I used three shades of purple plus white and black.  I love the deep black that can be made from dark purple and black.  This is all acrylic paints.  I first sketched the girl with pencil and then went over the page with a white acrylic paint wash.  Then I mixed various shades of purple for the rest.  The mouth and nose look off to me but….it just is.

purpgirl 

3 thoughts on “Art Journal – Purple Dream

  1. Janet July 17, 2009 / 6:03 pm

    You KNOW I love this one!! Purple!!

    Like

  2. RDE July 20, 2009 / 8:00 pm

    Love the purple too! Nice work!

    Like

  3. Mark March 15, 2010 / 8:19 pm

    This is fuckin’ awesome. The facial features are off just so that it seems like things are continuously floating away. Very hypnotic. I really like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

