New Project

diagramI finished my second cardboard journal yesterday.  When I use the term cardboard, I mean tissue, cracker, cereal, etc. boxes.  I tried to draw a diagram showing how I put it together.  I cut twelve four inch squares.  I then joined two squares together using strips of foil lined paper from an empty dog food bag.  I joined them by sewing them on my sewing machine using a wide zig zag stitch.  Looking at the diagram (it’s not clear)  the foil strips actually overlap the cardboard pieces.  I left them longer and trimmed to fit after sewing.  After doing all of them, I had six units that I then sewed together right down the middle of the foil strips.  Next time I made a journal like this, I will make more pages and make signatures and hand sew the pages together.   This has been a learning experience.  (On the first journal I made, I used cloth strips to join the pages.)  I will post some pictures that may clarify what I did on this journal.  The front and back covers are covered with a decorative tissue paper glued down with gel medium.   If anyone has any questions about how I did this, feel free to ask.

 

 

001

 

 

005

 

 

003

 

007

 

002 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Project

  1. chlorofluoro July 7, 2009 / 7:57 pm

    that’s really cool! is the cardboard easier to work for art journaling purposes?

    Like

  2. Wonders Never Cease July 8, 2009 / 4:44 pm

    I want to try this! I’ve put it on my to do list for this summer. Thank you for the instructions. I’ll let you know how it goes!
    Becky

    Like

Leave a Reply

