Garage Sales

I found some good buys at yard sales this morning.  Since I have no art to share, I thought I’d talk about yard sales today.  Hubby and I have a flea market booth to fill so we go to a lot of yard and garage sales.  We would go to auctions but most of the auctions around here are farm auctions.  We have tried auctions once or twice but left before they were over.  We don’t like to stand around all day waiting until the one item we want goes up on the block.  Anyway, back to the yard sales…I had to go solo today because hubby had surgery on his ankle last Thursday.  I found several indoor sales and that was great because it was raining(again).  I am finding that many people are charging more at their yard sales.  Some are charging what I would pay at a flea market.  However, one can still find good deals.  This morning, I found an old tea pot,  two cup and saucer sets, and several pieces of old jewelry.  I also  found an old notebook, dating back to 1987, kept by a lady named Ann.  She apparently kept a detailed record of all knitting yarn she purchased along with store receipts and in some cases, mentions the person who will receive the knitted garment.   She also listed some quilting fabrics purchased.  I found it a fascinating record…the last entry was in 1991…Jeff’s Navy Guernsey sweater.  I wonder if she got to complete Jeff’s sweater?  I paid fifty cents for this dear woman’s notebook.  I bought it thinking I would use some of the labels, etc., in some of my art work.  I’ll have to think about it before I tear it apart.   I scanned some pages from her notebook plus the jewelry I found.  I paid a dollar for each necklace and the pair of earrings.  The loose beads from an old pair of earrings were thrown in free.  The colorful necklace and earrings were made in Japan and quite old,  I think.  The necklace is made of abalone shell pieces and glass beads.  I scanned the jewelry and several pages from Ann’s notebook:

NBfirst

notebook

notebook2

jewels2

One thought on “Garage Sales

  1. Kitty May 16, 2009 / 3:36 pm

    Huh, tough choice about the diary. I don’t think that I’d have the nerve to break it up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

