Collage – Floral Flotsam

Here is another floral piece.  The other piece I had been working on found a place in the waste basket…some days are just like that, I suppose.  This piece started with watercolor paper as a base.  I covered the entire surface with collage papers.  I painted over that with red and ultramarine blue acrylic paint.  I rubbed most of that off.  I thought it was too dark so I painted over that with a white pearl paint.  I found some Stewart Gill paints that I bought when I took Suzi Blu’s class and tried some of them.  I’m not sure that I like them…they are very iridescent. I also used my favorite black India Ink.

flowers4

8 thoughts on “Collage – Floral Flotsam

  1. glosartjournal May 8, 2009 / 4:59 pm

    I like it. The background has so much going on in it and the colors are great! I’ve been doing some mixed media art and posting it on my blog also. Take a look at glosartjounal.wordpress.com

    I’m always open for pointers.
    Gloria

    Like

  2. Janet May 8, 2009 / 8:46 pm

    Gorgeous colors!! I’ve never used the Stewart Gill paints but I’ve heard a lot of people talk about them.

    Like

  3. Kitty May 9, 2009 / 1:03 am

    I like it! The colors are really vibrant, even in the picture.
    I still have problems with layering (getting a bit better) and it depending on how a job turns out I’m trying to put some money together for Julie’s “layers” class. Fingers crossed 🙂
    Bye, Kitty

    Like

  4. trish May 9, 2009 / 9:14 pm

    yes, it looks like Julie’s class will be really good-I just have so much that I’ve been putting off doing, I hate to add something else-will have to wait and see also;)

    Like

  5. azLizJane May 10, 2009 / 7:43 am

    Mary:

    I love the blues and the purples. Your work has inspired me to play more with paint.

    Liz

    Like

  6. RDE May 11, 2009 / 3:24 pm

    I really do like this one! Love the colors!

    Like

  7. katie May 13, 2009 / 11:26 am

    rich and beautiful artwork!
    thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog 🙂

    Like

  8. Jeran July 28, 2009 / 7:35 am

    This work is absolutely stunning. A beautiful piece with depth and rich color, texture. Wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

