Art Journal – A Great Wind Carries Me

I love the message of this old Ojibwe saying:  “Sometimes I go about in pity for myself, and all the while a great wind carries me across the sky.”  This journal spread uses a little bit of everything.  The first layer is red acrylic paint.  Then I used some white acrylic ink to soften the red shapes.  I also used my Caran d’Ache crayons plus watercolor pencils. I only have two more pages in my Moleskine.  I’m not ready to get another right now.  I plan to alter and work in my cereal box journal when I finish the Moleskine.

oji 

4 thoughts on “Art Journal – A Great Wind Carries Me

  1. Bea December 14, 2009 / 9:48 pm

    Hi, looking for the possible meaning and interpretation of that Ojibwe saying, I came across your website and beautiful painting.

    I’m itnerested in your interpretation of the saying, and whether you know what it’s supposed to mean?

    Thanks

    Like

  2. Mary December 15, 2009 / 1:38 pm

    Hi…Thanks for coming by and leaving your kind comment…I was looking for an email or website whereby I could reply to you directly. I think this saying means you can go around feeling sorry for yourself but there is a greater force (great wind or spirit) that sustains you no matter what you are going through.

    Like

  3. Donald Parker May 11, 2011 / 8:03 pm

    I just came across with this wise saying, I may add that I found it fatalist, like you can feel sorry about yourself sometimes but you are just going in the way the wind goes like following your destiny.

    Like

  4. Joe May 20, 2012 / 12:26 pm

    Zen priest Barbara Verkuilen talks about this phrase in her book: Timeless Lessons in Negociating the Way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

