New Project Experiment

I have been working on a project that involves recycling cereal, cracker, and tea boxes into a book.  I’m not sure if it will work.   I cut the pages approximately the same size.  Then I put gesso on both sides of the pages.  I found I had to use some steel wool to rough up the surfaces on the printed side of the pages.   Along one side of each page I am sewing a strip of fabric.  This is my plan to fasten all the pages together by sewing close to the edge of the page.  I’ll explain this further later on, if my plan works.  Here is one  of the pages that  has the strip of fabric sewn onto it. 

 cer2

       

6 thoughts on “New Project Experiment

  1. Janet March 16, 2009 / 4:42 pm

    Cool idea! I’ve never made a journal but it’s on my list of things to do.

    Like

  2. katiejane March 16, 2009 / 6:09 pm

    This is very pretty. And original! I hope the project works.

    Like

  3. Kitty March 16, 2009 / 11:34 pm

    That’s a great idea, sewing them together with fabric.

    Like

  4. Dymphie March 18, 2009 / 2:41 pm

    what a cool page, your book will be so lovely when finished. Don’t forget to share so I can drool over it 🙂
    Love your carved stamp in the other post. I’m a little into carving stamps too and digged up my tools last week to start again. No fancy design though, trying to do texts, which is not very easy for a starting carver….
    Thanks for visiting my blog and your kind comment. You’re in my feed now, don’t want to miss the finished book 😀

    Like

  5. journal88 April 5, 2009 / 12:56 pm

    great idea! I like the idea of mixing media. And it looks beautiful, too.

    Like

  6. n2theblue April 25, 2009 / 9:06 am

    this is an awesome idea, and looks great so far

    Like

Leave a Reply

