Lost in the Dream

I used watercolor paper for this piece I finished today.  I put gesso on first, painted it with white acrylic and then used black paint over the white.   I put another coat of gesso over that and I used a paintbrush handle to make swirls all over the paper except in the lower corner where I painted the face.   I recently ordered a set of Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bombay India Inks from Dick Blick.  These inks come in many bright colors.  I think I’m going to love working with them.  I used them like paints, brushing on splashes of color all over the background.  I used oil pastels lightly over that.  In some places I blended the pastels with the ink by going over them with water.  The girl’s face is done mainly with watercolors and watercolor pencils.  I used a little white acrylic paint to highlight the face.  What started out as an experiment turned out fairly well?

lostinthedream

2 thoughts on “Lost in the Dream

  1. rde January 21, 2009 / 8:45 pm

    I love it! Sounds like it took several steps (and time) to complete…

    Like

  2. Audrey January 29, 2009 / 6:35 am

    LOVE this one too!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

