Serenity. . .

I finished this today.  It’s on a piece of the old calendar.  The background is acrylic paint,  oil pastels, and colored pencils.  I always see the flaws after I scan the pictures.  I should have muted the dark area on the side of the girl’s face.  I found a girl’s head in a magazine and altered it with acrylic  paint and added a hat.  The body of the girl is part of  a perfume bottle from a magazine ad.  Her arms are the bottle top split down the middle.  Titan Buff is a great neutral to mute and alter when doing collage.  The other collage pieces are from a book company brochure.  I was going to make a dress from an old dictionary page but things happen when you are creating…I changed it and made her appear sort of genie-like (I guess one could say).   I’m self-taught and my insecurities are coming out but I’m determined not to get whiney.   I say that because I have changed the last few sentences of this post 4-5 times.

serenity 

5 thoughts on “Serenity. . .

  1. Kitty January 19, 2009 / 9:51 am

    I like the final effect very much. What is puzzling me, is the process. How do you start the background on a calendar page?
    Bye, Kitty

    Like

  2. Mary January 20, 2009 / 9:49 am

    Kitty, thanks for stopping by. I went to your website. I’m sorry I wish I knew your language. The background is done in layers…then you glue on the paper pieces and then more oil pastels and colored pencils. I hope this helps you…again, thanks for coming by.

    Like

  3. Kitty January 21, 2009 / 2:28 am

    Thank you for your reply. I should write more in English on my blog, I know. I’ll try to do it. I will be publishing some ATCs from the last couple of days tomorrow and I did try some of the paper layering with colors, but I probably stop adding layers to soon or something. Have to try more 🙂

    Like

  4. Mary January 21, 2009 / 8:26 am

    Thanks again Kitty, I’ll be sure to check out your ATCs when you get them on your blog. Where are you from? Are you from Russia…am I close in my guess?

    Like

  5. Martha Marshall January 22, 2009 / 10:25 am

    I love this and am so happy you introduced yourself on my blog. It’s great to read about your process.

    Like

Leave a Reply

