4 thoughts on “Weird Fungi Plants

  1. Moss Valentine September 6, 2008 / 5:06 pm

    Beautiful! These are mushrooms in the genus Amanita; I can’t ID as far as species because there’s not enough information, but they look like Amanita gemmata or citrina, or even phalloides, none of which you’d want to eat. In fact, some of the Amanitas are the deadliest species made. However, you’re in no danger just handling them, but don’t lick any little bits off your fingers. They can turn your liver to something akin to apple butter.
    Mushrooms aren’t plants, by the way, and they’re worth while learning about. Here’s a URL that could help you figure out exactly the Amanita you have: http://www.svims.ca/council/Amanit.htm

    Like

  2. Mary September 6, 2008 / 7:07 pm

    Moss, thanks for the information. I looked on the net at various fungi but never could find any that looked like mine. This morning the yellow parts of the fungi were gone. We thought perhaps a deer or other animal had eaten it but maybe they just dissolved? If they are deadly, then I doubt that an animal would have eaten them. Thank you for the url…I will check it out.

    Like

  3. Chris Cowman November 6, 2012 / 1:38 pm

    I saw the same thing while looking for wild mushrooms in the forrests in Dordogne France, The orange part was so vivid that even when I looked closely at it, at first I thought it was a Tangerine that had fungus growing round it. The shape reminded me slightly of the world cup trophy, the base was a very clean white while the top was perfectly round and vivid orange, the same texture as a smoothe orange. I wish I had had a camera with me, I would have photographed it. I have no idea what it was and haven’t been able to find any information on it either.

    Like

  4. flow in January 16, 2014 / 2:24 pm

    it was just beginning to fruit. if you had left it it would have turned into a parasol (and been easier to identify) possibly amanita family, or death’s cap family. looks pretty toxic, but may not have been. normally you can tell from the way the parasol breaks from the stem

    Like

Leave a Reply

