Bluebird of Happiness

This is another collage similar to the “small people” collages that Marianne Horton did. I have her website listed over to the right. The photo isn’t showing all of the piece…a sign isn’t showing that is above her and to the left (I forget why now). The sign above her head reads: “Dora thinks she may have found the Bluebird of Happiness.”  Do a search on the Bluebird of Happiness because that in itself is an interesting story.
Here’s what Wikipedia says:”The mythology of the bluebird has deep roots that goes back to thousands of years. Indigenous cultures across the globe hold similar myths and beliefs about the bluebird. It is the most universally accepted symbol of cheerfulness, happiness, prosperity, hearth and home, good health, new births, the renewal of springtime, etc. Virtually any positive sentiments may be attached to the bluebird.”
There is also a studio in Arkansas that makes signed and dated glass bluebirds. Check them out:  http://www.terrastudios.com/

Anyway, Dora is on an acrylic background while she is made from various papers. There’s a 1930 stamp from Mexico over on the right.  I outlined Dora with black ink and drew the flowers….and here’s Dora!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bluebird of Happiness

  1. Tracie Lyn Huskamp July 25, 2008 / 8:29 am

    Hi Mary! Thank you so very much for stopping by my humble blog and for your lovely comment. It has been a little quiet with everyone off enjoying summertime activities.

    But I can hardly wait for Fall… I don’t know what I love best.. the color changes, the cooler temperatures, the crisp mornings… ummm… it all sounds delightful.

    I don’t think it helps that I have been burning a fall scented candle in the house over the last week. This just has me longing for the Fall days even more.

    warmly,
    Tracie Lyn

    Like

  2. mrtaurus March 6, 2011 / 6:51 am

    Fantastic post. Really connect with it. I used to work in a safari park and one day a blue Macaw escaped… well let me post a blog about it. It was literally my bluebird of happiness!

    http://wp.me/pUZTD-m3

    Like

Leave a Reply

