Jouranal Page – A New Voice

I finished another page in my composition notebook. I also started another page in a new journal…a Strathmore Visual Journal that I ordered a few weeks ago.  On this page, I used the  black and white bars from business reply cards.  I started with Caran d’Ache crayons,  did a wash of white paint over that,  glued down the bars and went from there.  The quote is from  “The Journey,” a poem by Mary Oliver.  The sketching was done with my black and white Signo pens.

I got a new book from Amazon today…Creative Illustration Workshop for Mixed-Media Artists by Katherine Dunn.  It’s described as seeing, sketching, storytelling and using found materials.  All the artwork in the book is by her…I love the book!!!  If you are looking for a step by step “how to” book, then you might not want to purchase this book.  I am finding it very refreshing and different.